The Union County Board of Elections met on August 13, 2024. Those in attendance were Chairman Dean Cook: Board Members Jeff Robinson, Barbara Luke, and William Steele; Director Brandon Clay, Deputy Director Michelle Forrider; and Election Specialist Vicki Flanders.

Chairman Cook called the meeting to order at 1:00 pm

Approval of Minutes from June 4, 2024, meeting

Board Member Robinson moved to approve the minutes with Board Member Luke seconding the motion.

Motion passed unanimously.

Approval of Bills

Deputy Director Forrider presented the June and July bills for board approval.

- Visa
- 2. Ohio Association of Election Officials
- 3. Ohio Secretary of State Annual Conference Registration
- 4. Pitney Bowes
- 5. Verizon
- 6. Marysville Journal-Tribune
- 7. ComDoc
- 8. Election Center
- 9. Travel reimbursement

Board Member Steele motioned to approve the bills with Board Member Robinson seconding.

Motion passed unanimously.

Campaign Finance

Deputy Director Forrider presented semiannual campaign finance reports.

- 1. Friends of Tony Eufinger
- 2. Citizens Committee for People with Developmental Disabilities
- 3. Lori Lacella for Allen Township Fiscal Officer Committee
- 4. Union County Democratic Party Operating Fund
- 5. Committee to Elect Joe Craft
- 6. Committee to Elect Andrea Weaver
- 7. Donald Boerger for Marysville City Council Ward 4
- 8. Citizens for Schools Committee
- 9. Ross for Washington Township
- 10. Residents for Jerome Township
- 11. Tyler J Hall for Traditional Values
- 12. Citizens for Senior Services, Better Roads and Safer Bridges
- 13. Union County Democratic Party Restricted Fund
- 14. Union County Democratic Party Scholarship Fund
- 15. Borner for Marysville

- 16. Scott Hunter for Marysville
- 17. North Union Levy Committee
- 18. Friends of Scott Wolfe
- 19. Union County 911 Committee]
- 20. For Union County
- 21. The Friends of the Union County Health Department Levy Committee
- 22. Smart
- 23. Jermaine Ferguson for Marysville

Board Member Luke motioned to approve the campaign finance reports. Board Member Robinson seconded the motion.

Motion passed unanimously.

2024 YTD Budget Summary

Deputy Director Forrider presented an update on the YTD budget. We received two grants for the November General election, \$8,205.00 for the November Readiness, and \$5,723.00 for Poll Worker training.

Questions and Issues for the November Ballot

Deputy Director Forrider presented the questions and issues that need approval for the 2024 General Election ballot. The questions and issues were as follows:

- 1. Marysville Exempted Village School District
- 2. Union County Gas Aggregation
- 3. Union County Electric Aggregation
- 4. Marysville Public Library
- 5. Union County Board of Developmental Disability
- 6. Magnetic Springs

Board Member Steel motioned to approve the questions and issues for the ballot with Board member Robinson seconding the motion.

Motion passed unanimously

Deputy Director Forrider presented three local options for the board's approval of the 2024 General Election ballot. They were as follows:

- 1. Darby Creek Golf Course
- 2. Walking Distance Sunday Sales
- 3. Ill Mannered Sunday Sales

Board Member Luke motioned to approve with Board Member Robinson seconding the motion.

Motion passed unanimously

Misc

Deputy Director Forrider informed the board of the state auditor training that will need to be completed by all board members.

All Board of Elections staff must also complete an updated background check per the Secretary of State's security initiative.

The Secretary of State also requires that all Board of Election employees complete the KnowBE4 training prior to the upcoming November election.

Director Clay presented to the Board an updated contract with ES&S which would include paying a flat rate fee for ballot printing. The contract has been reviewed by the county attorney with no issues in question.

Board Member Steele motioned to approve the contract with Board Member Robinson seconding the motion.

Motion passed unanimously

Board Member Steele motioned to adjourn the meeting at 1:40 pm with Board Member Robinson seconding the motion.

• Motion passed unanimously.

Attest:

Chairman:

Vicki Flanders, Election Specialist

Dean Cook, Chairman